16TH CYPRUS VIRTUAL SUMMIT
Economist event banner
  Tuesday, November 24th 2020
14:00 EET
(07:00 EST)

THE ECONOMIST’S FORECAST ON EUROPE’S ECONOMY
● Discussing recession shapes
● The impact of the pandemic on the eastern Mediterranean’s economic and geopolitical landscape
● Brexit: Back to the drawing board?

John Peet, political and Brexit editor, The Economist
14:05 EET
(07:05 EST)

CYPRUS AFTER THE STORM
● Building resilience
● Enhancing regional cooperation
● Supporting economy and the society
● A test for EU’s cohesion

Keynote address:
Nicos Anastasiades, president, Republic of Cyprus (recorded message)
14:20 EET
(07:20 EST)
EUROPE: PUTTING SOLIDARITY TO THE TEST
● How has Cyprus tackled the pandemic?
● The business & academic perspectives

Stella Kyriakides, European commissioner for health and food safety (recorded message)
Ierotheos Papadopoulos, head, European Commission Representation in Cyprus
Theodore Tryfon, president, Panhellenic Union of Pharmaceutical Industries (PEF), member of the board, Hellenic Federation of Enterprises (SEV)
Christoforos Hadjikyprianou, CEO and president of the council, European University Cyprus

Commentator:
Andreas Paraschos, executive editor, Kathimerini newspaper, Cyprus
14:50 EET
(07:50 EST)
Discussion
15:10 EET
(08:10 EST)
Break
15:20 EET
(08:20 EST)


US FOREIGN POLICY & THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN
Nicholas Burns, former US under-secretary of state for political affairs

ENERGY DIPLOMACY IN TURBULENT TIMES
● Is there hope for peace & mutual understanding?

Nikos Christodoulides, minister of foreign affairs, Cyprus
Nikolaos Dendias, minister of foreign affairs, Greece
15:40 EET
(08:40 EST)
Discussion
16:00 EET
(09:00 EST)


EFFORTS FOR PEACE AND STABILITY
AT THE CROSSROADS OF THREE CONTINENTS
● Drilling activities and exclusive economic zones in the Levantine basin
● Alliances in the Mediterranean region: Is there a game changer?
● Escalating tension with Turkey: Next steps?

Charalambos Petrides, minister of defence, Cyprus
Thanos Dokos, national security adviser to the prime minister, Greece
Spyros Economides, associate professor in international relations and European politics, London School of Economics
16:20 EET
(09:20 EST)
Discussion
16:40 EET
(09:40 EST)
Break
16:50 EET
(10:50 EST)
THE POST-PANDEMIC ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL PROSPECTS
FOR EUROPE AND CYPRUS
● Is there enough ammunition to trigger recovery?
● The Eurobond concept: pros and cons
● How soon can the Cypriot economy recover?

Klaus Regling, managing director, European Stability Mechanism
Jeroen Dijsselbloem, chairman, Dutch Safety Board, former president, Eurogroup
Harris Georgiades, former minister of finance, Cyprus, deputy leader, Democratic Rally

● The business perspective
Evgenios Evgeniou
, CEO, PwC Cyprus
Charis Pouangare, deputy CEO, Bank of Cyprus
17:30 EET
(10:30 EST)
Discussion
17:50 EET
(10:50 EST)
TESTING THE STRENGTH OF THE FINANCIAL SECTOR
● Are the banking systems in a position to contain the recession and boost recovery?
● Mainstream and alternative ways to finance recovery
● Reducing non-performing loans: Why is it now more crucial than ever?
● Cyprus: Is there a risk of a new bank crisis?
● How is the “new normal” accelerating the fintech revolution?

Michalis Athanasiou, executive director, global corporate banking & markets, Bank of Cyprus
Athanasios Vamvakidis, managing director & global head of G10 foreign exchange strategy, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Cristina Torrella
, senior director, financial institutions, Fitch Ratings
Michael Christos Charalambides, CEO and managing director, ECommBX
18:10 EET
(11:10 EST)
Discussion
18:30 EET
(11:30 EST)
Break
18:40 EET
(11:40 EST)
WILL THE HYDROCARBONS EXPLORATION RESUME ITS MOMENTUM?
● The current global trends in the energy sector
● Hydrocarbons exploration in the eastern Mediterranean: The repercussions of the pandemic – the political implications

Natasa Pilides, minister of energy, commerce and industry, Cyprus
Alessandra Todde, under-secretary in charge of energy affairs, Ministry of Economic Development, Italy (recorded message)
Romaric Roignan, vice-president North Africa, Total Exploration & Production
Rikard Scoufias, chairman, Hellenic Hydrocarbon Resources Management 
Constantinos Filis, executive director, Institute of International Relations
19:05 EET
(12:05 EST)
Discussion
19:25 EET
(12:25 EST)
ENERGY TRANSITION AND DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION: GREECE’S SIGNIFICANT ROLE IN SOUTH-EAST EUROPE

In dialogue with The Economist:
Andreas Shiamishis, chief executive officer, Hellenic Petroleum Group
19:30 EET
(12:30 EST)
Discussion
19:40 EET
(12:40EST) 

TOWARDS A POST COVID-19 GROWTH AND BUSINESS MODEL
● Innovation – flexibility - competitiveness
● Technology disruption in the post-pandemic world

Goran Tinjic, programme manager for southern Europe, World Bank
Christodoulos Angastiniotis, president, Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
19:50 EET
(12:50EST) 
Discussion
20:10 EET
(13:10 EST)
End of sessions

Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner