TESTING THE RESILIENCE OF THE FINANCIAL SECTOR AFTER COVID-19
Economist event banner
  Thursday, July 16th 2020
10:00 CET
11:00 EEST
Welcome remarks
THE ECONOMIST’S OUTLOOK ON THE FINANCIAL MARKETS

Joan Hoey, regional director, Europe, The Economist Intelligence Unit

10:10 CET
11:10 EEST 
HOW CAN THE EUROPEAN BANKING SYSTEM RETURN
TO STABILITY AFTER COVID-19?
Is there a risk of an international bank crisis?
The society’s expectations from the banking system

José Manuel Campa, chairperson, European Banking Authority
George Zavvos, deputy minister of finance in charge of the financial system, Greece
10:30 CET
11:30 EEST
Discussion
10:50 CET
11:50 EEST
WHAT IS THE DEFENCE OF BANKS AGAINST THE PANDEMIC?
The new generation of NPLs after Covid-19
Financing economy in times of uncertainty
Rethinking business models and culture in the sector
Traditional banks and alternative finance: friends or foes?
The credit rating’s perspective

Athanasios Vamvakidis, managing director & global head of G10 foreign exchange strategy, Bank
of America 
James Longsdon, managing director, head of EMEA bank ratings, Fitch Ratings
Guido Clary, head of Slovenia and Western Balkans Unit Lending Operations, European Investment Bank
Julien Clausse, head, 021 exploration engineering, BNP Paribas CIB
11:20 CET
12:20 EEST
Discussion
11:40 CET
12:40 EEST
Break
11:50 CET
12:50 EEST
ASSESSING FINTECH’S MOMENTUM
Transactions and payments: the post-pandemic landscape
Is there enough funding for fintech companies?
Disruption in the banking sector: where can it lead?
Remote working: how is the sector being affected?
Fintech startups: the strongest trends
Cyber security risks in the fintech revolution era

Dimosthenis Anagnostopoulos, secretary-general of information systems of public sector, Ministry
of Digital Governance, Greece
Georgios Karamanolis, co-founder & CTO/CIO, Crowdpolicy, chairman, Hellenic Blockchain Hub
Itai Green, founder and CEO, Innovate Israel
Efi Pylarinou, global fintech influencer, Switzerland
12:20 CET
13:20 EEST
Discussion
12:40 CET
13:40 EEST
End of conference

Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner