THE NEW YORK-EASTMED SUMMIT
Economist event banner
  Tuesday, September 29th 2020

15:00(EEST)
08:00(EDT)

Welcome remarks by the conference chair
HOW IS THE GLOBAL ECONOMY RESPONDING
FOLLOWING THE EXIT FROM THE LOCKDOWN?
Which countries will suffer more?
The best and the worst case scenarios
Transatlantic ties against the backdrop of the US election campaign

Joan Hoey, regional director, Europe, The Economist Intelligence Unit
15:10(EEST)
08:10(EDT)
Official opening
THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN: A SEA OF CONFLICT OR A SEA OF OPPORTUNITIES? 
Promoting security and prosperity in the Eastern Mediterranean 

Matthew Palmer, deputy assistant secretary of European and Eurasian affairs, United States 
15:20(EEST)
08:20(EDT)
Discussion
15:30(EEST)
08:30(EDT)
WHY DO BUSINESS IN THE EASTERN MEDITERRANEAN REGION?
Greece: Getting the country back onto the global agenda
The Cypriot economy: post-Covid period expectations

Adonis Georgiadis, minister for development and investments, Greece
Averof Neofytou, president, Democratic Rally, Cyprus (DISY)
Evgenios Evgeniou, CEO, PwC Cyprus
Eric Stewart, president, American-Central European Business Association (ACEBA)
16:00(EEST)
09:00(EDT)
Discussion
16:20(EEST)
09:20(EDT)
Break
16:30(EEST)
09:30(EDT)
OPPORTUNITIES FOR CORPORATIONS & INVESTORS FOLLOWING COVID-19

Constantinos Petrides, minister of finance, Cyprus
Nikos Papathanassis, alternate minister of development and investments, Greece
Georgios Filiopoulos, CEO, Enterprise Greece

Dominic Volek, member of the executive committee, Henley and Partners

Itai Green, founder and CEO, Innovate Israel
16:50(EEST)
09:50(EDT)
Discussion
17:15(EEST)
10:15(EDT)
Break
17:25(EEST)
10:25(EDT)

BOOSTING THE REGION’S RECOVERY
THROUGH STABILITY AND CO-OPERATION
Is there optimism for the region?
New partnerships-new opportunities
▪ In search of a more resilient growth model

Shelly Porges, co-founder & managing partner, Beyond the Billion & The Billion Dollar Fund for Women
Michalis P. Michael, chairman, Invest Cyprus
Aristos Constantine, trade commissioner, Cyprus Embassy Trade Center – New York
Alex Boulougouris, CFA, co-head of research, WOOD & Company
17:45(EEST)
10:45(EDT)
Discussion
18:00(EEST)
11:00(EDT)
Break
18:10(EEST)
11:10(EDT)
EASTMED: RECENT GEOPOLITICAL DEVELOPMENTS AND ENERGY SECURITY
Europe’s southern gas corridor: Unlocking its full potential

Francis Fannon, assistant secretary for the bureau of energy resources, US Department of State
Natasa Pilides, minister of energy, commerce and industry, Cyprus
Yannis Maniatis, former minister for environment, energy and climate change, Greece

The business perspective:
Yaniv Friedman, deputy CEO, Delek Drilling LP, Avner Oil

18:35(EEST)
11:35 (EDT)
Discussion
18:50(EEST)
11:50 (EDT)
End of sessions

Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner