EURO ZONE’S QUEST FOR A CORONAVIRUS “VACCINE”
Economist event banner
  Friday, June 5th 2020

11:20 CET
12:20 EEST

THE ECONOMIST’S FORECAST ON POST-COVID-19 EURO ZONE
Welcome remarks by the conference chair:
Joan Hoey, regional director, Europe, The Economist Intelligence Unit


EURO ZONE’S QUEST FOR A CORONAVIRUS “VACCINE”
 The world economy in the vortex of recession –again:
Examining the best-case and the worst-case scenario

▪ Euro zone’s cohesion and the parameter of solidarity:
The ESM credit lines and the idea of Eurobond

▪ Banks and NPLs: borrowers diagnosed with Covid-19
11:30 CET
12:30 EEST
Mário Centeno, president, Eurogroup, minister of finance, Portugal
Valdis Dombrovskis, executive vice-president, European Commission
Christos Staikouras, minister of finance, Greece
Christos Megalou, CEO, Piraeus Bank

12:15 CET
13:15 EEST

Discussion

12:45 CET
13:45 EEST

Break
12:55 CET
13:55 EEST
Colin Ellis, chief credit officer, EMEA, Moody’s Investors Service
Zsolt Darvas, senior fellow, Bruegel
Kostas Axarloglou, dean and professor of international business and strategy, Alba Graduate Business School, The American College of Greece
13:10 CET
14:10 EEST
Discussion
13:30 CET
14:30 EEST
End of event

Economist Link Banner
Economist Link Banner